CarvoltX

Country

More markets coming soon More countries will open with their own catalogues, prices, and tools.

Language

Comparisons

How to Read a Car Comparison Table: Power, Torque, Boot Space, Safety and Price Explained

How to Read a Car Comparison Table: Power, Torque, Boot Space, Safety and Price Explained

A comparison table can save you hours of showroom visits, or it can mislead you if you read it the wrong way. Bigger numbers are not always better, some rows matter far more than others, and a blank cell can tell you as much as a filled one. This guide walks through the rows that matter most and how to interpret them, using a real side-by-side from CarVoltX Compare.

Start with the right two cars

A comparison is only useful if the cars are genuine alternatives. Check three things before reading any specs:

1Same body type and size class: a compact SUV against a large sedan tells you little.
2Similar price band: within roughly 10% is a fair fight. Beyond that you are comparing budgets, not cars.
3The exact trims you would buy: base and top versions can differ hugely in equipment and even engine.

Our example

We will use the Chery Tiggo 7 Premium PHEV FWD vs Haval H6 1.5T comparison, as listed on 26 October 2026:

Spec Tiggo 7 PHEV FWD H6 1.5T
Ex-factory price PKR 9,499,000 PKR 9,371,970
Powertrain Plug-in hybrid Petrol
Power 342 hp (combined) 182 hp
Torque 525 Nm (combined) 275 Nm
Boot space 565 L 808 L
Kerb weight 1,785 kg 1,770 kg
Ground clearance 175 mm 170 mm

The price gap is just PKR 127,030, or 1.4%, so these are fair rivals. Now let us read each row properly.

Price: look at the gap, then at the on-road total

Comparison tables usually show the base price (ex-factory or ex-showroom). That is useful for ranking, but the money you pay is the on-road figure. Taxes and fees can differ between powertrains and price bands, so run both cars through the on-road cost calculator. If you are financing, compare monthly instalments in the EMI calculator too. A small price gap can grow or shrink once you add papers and interest.

Power (hp or kW): how fast, not how strong

Power tells you about acceleration and top-end performance, especially on motorways and when overtaking. A few tips:

11 kW is about 1.34 hp. Make sure both cars are in the same unit before comparing.
2Look for the word "combined". Hybrid and plug-in hybrid figures often add engine and electric motor output. That peak may only be available when the battery has charge.
3Power to weight matters more than power alone. Here the two SUVs weigh almost the same, so the Tiggo 7's higher combined output should translate into noticeably quicker acceleration, at least with charge in the battery.

Torque (Nm): the pull you feel

Torque is the twisting force that gets the car moving. High torque at low engine speed makes a car feel relaxed in traffic, up hills and when loaded with passengers. Electric motors deliver strong torque almost instantly, which is why hybrids and EVs often feel lively from a standstill. When a table lists torque with an rpm figure, a lower rpm usually means the pull arrives earlier.

Boot space (litres): read it with caution

Boot space is one of the most useful practical rows, and one of the least consistent. Carmakers measure it in different ways: to the parcel shelf, to the roof, with seats folded or not. Our example shows a big difference, 808 L for the H6 against 565 L for the Tiggo 7, but treat cross-brand litre figures as a guide. Plug-in hybrids often lose some boot volume to battery packaging. If luggage matters, take your own bags or a pram to the showroom.

Safety rows: what a "Yes" does and does not tell you

1Airbags: check the number and positions (front, side, curtain), not just "Yes".
2ABS and stability control (ESP/ESC/VSC): stability control is one of the most important active safety features. Make sure your chosen trim has it.
3Driver assistance: lane keeping, adaptive cruise and automatic emergency braking can vary by trim even within one model.
4Crash-test rating: an independent rating is valuable when it exists. In our example both cars show "Not available" for an NCAP rating on the compare page. That does not mean the cars are unsafe; it means you have no tested score to compare, so check whether the specific version sold in your market was tested.

Efficiency and range: compare like with like

A petrol car shows km per litre. A plug-in hybrid shows battery size and an electric range, here 18.3 kWh and 90 km for the Tiggo 7, plus a combined range. The H6 lists 10 km/L city and 12 km/L highway. These are not directly comparable. A plug-in hybrid is cheapest to run when you charge it regularly and keep most trips inside the electric range. If you rarely charge, it behaves more like a heavier petrol hybrid. For EVs, range figures depend on the test cycle; convert them with How far does my EV go? and estimate running costs with the EV savings calculator.

Dimensions that actually matter

1Wheelbase: a longer wheelbase usually means more rear legroom. The H6's 2,738 mm against the Tiggo 7's 2,670 mm hints at more space in the back.
2Ground clearance: important on rough roads, speed breakers and flooded streets. Small differences of a few millimetres rarely matter in practice.
3Turning radius: a smaller number makes parking and U-turns easier in tight city streets.

"Not specified" is information too

Blank or "not specified" cells mean the official data was not published for that version. CarVoltX does not fill gaps with guesses. If a missing row matters to you, ask the dealer to confirm it in writing.

A quick reading order

  1. Price gap and on-road total
  2. Powertrain and real running costs
  3. Safety equipment on the exact trim
  4. Space: boot, rear legroom, seats
  5. Performance: power, torque, weight
  6. Features and comfort

Bottom line

A comparison table is a shortlist tool, not a verdict. Use it to rule cars in or out, then confirm the rows that matter to you on a test drive and in a written quotation. Build your own side-by-side on CarVoltX Compare (or India Compare), and use the "Hide identical" option to focus on the differences.

Figures were checked on CarVoltX on 26 October 2026 and can change. See our editorial policy for how specifications are sourced.

Topics

Waqas Javed

Written by

Waqas Javed

Founder and Editor

Waqas Javed is the founder and editor of CarVoltX. He is a full-stack web developer who designed and built the CarVoltX platform himself, including the car catalogue, the comparison pages, the buyer tools and the publishing system behind the blog.As editor, Waqas leads the car data, tools and editorial work across every market CarVoltX covers. Each market gets the same standard: local prices in local currency, local variants and the same checks. Price and spec pages are based on official carmaker and distributor information and checked by the CarVoltX team before they are published.He writes guides and analysis on car prices, new launches, running costs and buying decisions, with a focus on helping readers compare cars fairly before they visit a dealer. Because he also writes the code, he can turn reader feedback into new tools and clearer pages quickly, from on-road cost and EMI calculators to EV range and charging tools. He also reviews every post published by the CarVoltX Editorial Team and is responsible for corrections.Spotted something that looks wrong? Email reachus@carvoltx.com or use the contact form. You can read how we work in our editorial policy.

Keep comparing before you buy

Browse live catalogue prices, specs, and variants, then run the numbers in buyer tools.

A clearer path to a better drive

Practical advice. Useful insights. For every journey.

Explore buying guides